Green Bay Packers’ Aaron Rodgers Wins the 2020 NFL MVP Award

Green Bay Packers’ quarterback Aaron Rodgers is the NFL MVP for the 2020 campaign. This is the third such honor for one of the most exciting players in the history of the game. 

Convincing Win for AR

Even though many saw Patrick Mahomes as someone who could endanger Rodgers’ quest towards another MVP trophy, the Packers’ superstar was pretty convincing during the voting. It seems that the last few rounds of the regular part of the year made a big difference, with the green-yellow No.12 having s superb finish that made the difference. The result of the voting said it all – Rodgers 44, all the rest six votes. 

After 2011 and 2014, the 37-year old once more became the league’s top player. And how wouldn’t he be, with 48 touchdowns, five interceptions, 4.299 passing yards, and a QBR of 84.4? In all of these categories but the passing yards, he was the No.1 in the league.

With three MVP awards, Rodgers is now tied with Johnny Unitas, Tom Brady, Jim Brown, and most importantly, Brett Favre, his predecessor at Lambeau, and the player who greatly influenced his career in so many ways.

The Packers reached back-to-back NFC Championship Games, but lost again, as they did in the previous season. Back then was against the San Francisco 49ers and no vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers. It was a great failure for both the franchise and its best player, but if by any chance Rodgers continues to play like this, we are more than sure that the Packs will have the opportunity to bounce back and have another shot at the Super Bowl.

Henry Wins the OPOY, Donald Another DPOY

Titans’ Derrick Henry and Rams’ Aaron Donald won the honors for the year’s best offensive and defensive players. 

Henry led the league in rushing yards with 2.027, which was the fifth overall result of all times. He was the unstoppable force, carrying the football into the endzone 17 times. 

Meanwhile, Aaron Donald continued his spree in winning the Defensive Player of the Year awards, with his third in the past four seasons. He had the most pressures 54, and had the best win percentage among the interior DLs, 24.2%. 

Both the Titans and the Rams reached the playoffs, but lost early on. Titans in the Wild Card Round at home to the Baltimore Ravens, while Rams suffered a defeat in the Divisional Round against Green Bay. 

Herbert and Young Lead the Rooks

As expected, Chargers QB Justin Herbert and Washington’s DE Chase Young have won the Rookie of the Year Awards. Herbert as the best offensive player, and Young for his contributions to the team’s defense. 

Herbert broke Baker Mayfield’s record for touchdown passes in the first season, and several more. He had 31 passes to the endzone, 4.336 passing yards, in 396 completions, all being the new records. 

Meanwhile, Young became one of the best defenders in the league in his initial campaign, with 7.5 sacks, 4 forced fumbles, and three recoveries. He lifted the Football Team in the decisive part of the year, pushing the franchise from DC to the playoffs. 

His teammate Alex Smith was named the Comeback Player of the Year, while Cleveland Browns’ head coach Kevin Stefanski received the Coach of the Year award. 

Some of our talented contributors choose to remain anonymous but they help to comprise a talented team of writers at, bringing you sports news and headlines from different views and cultures across the globe, sharing the passion we all have for enjoying sports together.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.