Lamar Jackson Wins the NFL MVP Award

Lamar Jackson earned the NFL MVP title today, after being voted unanimously, becoming just the second MVP in history with such an achievement. The previous one was Tom Brady in 2010.

Jackson Changing the Game

The Baltimore Ravens’ QB had a magnificent season, during which he broke several records, while leading his team to the No.1 seed in the league, and also revolutionizing the game with his uncharacteristic approach on the field.

“It feels good when you can make those people eat their words,” Jackson said after hearing the news.

LJ told this because of all the scouts who were doubting his skills once he decided to enter the NFL draft. If you remember, he was the last guy to be picked in the first round, and the one who was left waiting while everyone else already left the green room.

Back then, the youngster out of Louisville was visibly disturbed and unhappy, and wasn’t even celebrating that much once the Ravens decided to surprise everyone and pick him as their choice.

It appears that such a scenario only motivated the 21-year old at the time, to work even harder and to push himself over the limits. And the result came 21 months later.

Jackson posted 3,127 passing yards for the league-leading 36 touchdowns and just six interceptions. But Jackson posted 1,206 yards on the ground, breaking all the records in that aspect of QB’s game, and becoming the first-ever who did something like that. Eventually, he finished sixth in the league when looking rushing yards.

He immediately made an impact on the Ravens’ game and after replacing the injured Joe Flacco established himself as the No.1 quarterback in John Harbaugh’s crew. The Ravens would win the AFC North title back then, and repeated the same this season.

When mentioning Harbaugh, Baltimore’s head coach won the NFL Coach of the Year award. The franchise from the M&T Bank Stadium posted 14 wins, the record in its history, and was the league-leading after the regular part of the season.

They would survive a massive upset in the divisional round once losing to Tennessee Titans at home, and miss a chance to fight for the Super Bowl.

The Ravens also had the offensive coordinator Greg Roman winning the Assistant Coach of the Year award.

Thomas and Gilmore Receive Honors

Michael Thomas from the New Orleans Saints was named the Offensive Player of the Year, beating Jackson in that category for just two votes. He had 149 receptions this season, becoming the record-holder in that category.

Thomas and Jerry Rice are the only two WRs who received such an honor.

Stephen Gilmore, a cornerback from the New England Patriots, became the Defensive Player of the Year. Since 2009 and Charles Woodson, Gilmore became the first CB to get this award.

Nick Bossa got the Defensive Rookie of the Year award, while the No.1 pick Kyler Murray got the same only for the offense.

And finally, Ryan Tannehill from the Tennessee Titans won the award for the comeback of the year, finishing the ballot one vote ahead of Jimmy Garoppolo.