UFC Weight Classes and Current Champions

  • By
  • Updated

The UFC currently has nine weight classes, four of which are open to both male and female fighters.

The most recent weight class to be included in the UFC is the women’s featherweight division which saw Dutch fighter Germaine de Randamie defeat Holly Holm to win the division’s inaugural title in February 2017.

Other weight classes open to female competitors are the strawweight, flyweight, and bantamweight divisions.

Currently, there are no plans to extend female weight classes beyond the featherweight division.

Below is the list of all active weight classes, including their permitted lower and upper limits in pounds.

Weight ClassMinimum LimitMaximum Limit
StrawweightNone115 lb
Flyweight115 lb125 lb
Bantamweight125 lb135 lb
Featherweight135 lb145 lb
Lightweight145 lb155 lb
Welterweight155 lb170 lb
Middleweight170 lb185 lb
Light Heavyweight185 lb205 lb
Heavyweight205 lb265 lb

To this date there have only been four UFC champions which have held more than one title simultaneously, these, in chronological order, are Conor McGregor (lightweight and featherweight), Daniel Cormier (light heavyweight and heavyweight), Amanda Nunes (women’s bantamweight and women’s featherweight), and Henry Cejudo (flyweight and bantamweight).

Dec 29, 2018; Los Angeles, CA, USA; Amanda Nunes (blue gloves) celebrates her victory over Cris Cyborg (not pictured) during UFC 232 at The Forum. Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports
Amanda Nunes celebrating champ-champ status following victory over Cris Cyborg in 2018 | Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

Current UFC Champions

Weight ClassChampionDefeatedEvent
Women’s StrawweightZhang WeiliCarla EsparzaUFC 281 – November 12, 2022
Women’s FlyweightValentina ShevchenkoJoanna JedrzejczykUFC 231 – December 8, 2018
Women’s BantamweightAmanda NunesJulianna PenaUFC 277 – July 30, 2022
Women’s FeatherweightAmanda NunesCris CyborgUFC 232 – December 29, 2018
Men’s FlyweightDeiveson FigueiredoBrandon MorenoUFC 270 – January 22, 2022
Men’s BantamweightAljamain SterlingPetr YanUFC 259 – March 6, 2021
Men’s FeatherweightAlexander VolkanovskiMax HollowayUFC 245 – December 14, 2019
Men’s LightweightIslam MakhachevCharles OliveiraUFC 280 – October 22, 2022
Men’s WelterweightLeon EdwardsKamaru UsmanUFC 278 – August 20, 2022
Men’s MiddleweightAlex PereiraIsrael AdesanyaUFC 281 – November 12, 2022
Men’s Light HeavyweightJiri ProchazkaGlover TeixeiraUFC 275 – June 11, 2022
Men’s HeavyweightFrancis NgannouStipe MiocicUFC 260 – March 27, 2021


First Deposit Bonus 50% → $1000

MINIMUM deposit of $55.00 is required to qualify for the bonus.

You will receive a 50% bonus on your qualifying first deposit only.

Deposits via Skrill and Neteller do not qualify for this bonus.

The maximum bonus per deposit is $1,000.00.

>Read the full terms and conditions