NHL Picks: Jack Adams Trophy Odds, and Prediction (2023-24)

By · Updated 9 months ago
  • Jack Adams Trophy awarded to the top coach in the NHL
  • Jim Montgomery was awarded the accolade last season

A huge component of success achieved in the NHL is down to the coach that puts together plans for the long-term success of a franchise. Coaches that are deemed to have contributed to the success of a team in the NHL are awarded the Jack Adams Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, and the latest odds for the 2023-24 campaign can be found below.

Jack Adams Trophy Odds

Jim Montgomery
Lindy Ruff
Rod Brind-Amour
Bruce Cassidy
Jay Woodcroft
Rick Bowness
Jared Bednar
Dave Hakstol

Event Preview

The Jack Adams Trophy has been awarded to the coach of the year since 1974. It is handed out to the individual that is adjudged to have played the most significant role in the success of their team. The award has been handed out regularly since the 1974 season, with 40 different coaches picking up the accolade throughout its history.

Pat Burns is the most successful coach in terms of the Jack Adams Trophy, as he won the accolade on three occasions. Meanwhile, five coaches have picked up the award on two occasions. Only one previous winner has been able to land back-to-back victories, with Jacques Demers winning the accolade in 1987 and 1988 with the Detroit Red Wings.

READ MORE: F1 Picks: Austrian Grand Prix Prediction, Preview, and Odds (July 2)

There is little surprise to see Jim Montgomery at the top of the betting for the award for the 2023-24 season. The Boston Bruins dominated during the regular season last term, before coming up short in the playoffs. However, the outright Stanley Cup odds already highlight that they expect the Eastern Conference side to be back in contention in 2023-24.

However, given that only one previous coach has won back-to-back accolades, it could be challenging to side with the favorite. Lindy Ruff is among the leading contenders, as he looks to guide the New Jersey Devils to the top of the Eastern Conference. The 63-year-old previously won the Jack Adams Trophy during his time with the Buffalo Sabres.

Jack Adams Trophy Picks

Rod Brind’Armour could be an early standout pick at the odds available. The 52-year-old steered the Carolina Hurricanes to the latter stages of the Stanley Cup last season, and they will be back in contention in 2023-24.

Free Pick

Alex Dudley
Contributor Alex has covered huge sporting events for various websites and publications. He has attended football European Championships, Rugby League and Union World Cups, and the Paralympics. Alex is dedicated to giving the most insightful tips for VegasOdds readers and specialises in horse racing, soccer, golf and basketball.