La Liga Vegas Odds and Betting Guide


La Liga. When you hear those two words, it immediately brings back all the wonderful football memories. The fantastic El Clasicos, Ronaldinho’s magic, Cruyff, both Ronaldos, Valencia with Ector Kuper, all this and numerous other images just rush through your head.

We strongly believe that you won’t hold a grudge against us for not mentioning some of your favorites, because La Liga has an enormously rich history which simply can’t be written in a few sentences.

AIt all that began 92 years ago. Jose Maria Acha started gathering people from all over the country, preaching his idea of creating the Spanish national league. Two years later, that actually happened, and the Primera Division was born. Throughout the decades, this competition saw nine different title holders, with Real Madrid (33 titles) and Barcelona (26), as the two most dominant sides. Their rivalry is probably the biggest in the world, emphasized by many other factors not just the sports ones.

Besides Real and Barca, Athletic Bilbao, Valencia, Atletico Madrid, Real Sociedad, Deportivo de La Coruna, Sevilla, and Real Betis all won at least one title.

Everybody remember La Liga 18-19 with its fair share of ups and downs so here are La Liga odds for 19-20, 20-21 and every year thereafter. Bet on your La Liga winner with these betting odds:

La Liga Odds

Best Sportsbooks for Betting on La Liga

First Wager Bonus 100% up to $1250
Promotions See Website
Multiple Promotions: See Website

La Liga’s Reign Over Europe

Did you know than La Liga gave 60 winners of the Europan club competitions? The next country on the list is Italy with dozen trophies fewer. Germany, for example, has twice as less. The Spanish clubs are absolutely dominating the continental competitions in the past few decades, and that especially applies to the last one. Until Liverpool captured this edition of the Champions League, teams from La Liga won it five years in a row. Sevilla and Atletico Madrid, on the other side, harassed all the rivals in the Europa League, where the domination of La Liga teams is even greater than in the most prominent club competition in the world.

Check out this piece of information. Spain has 18 UCL titles, 11 EL, and 15 UEFA Super Cups. Case closed.

Format of the Competition

There are 20 sides competing in La Liga. Three teams to finish at the bottom of the standings are relegated automatically. Meanwhile, the top four are advancing to the Champions League directly. The fifth one is guaranteed a place in the Europa League group stage, and the sixth goes to the qualification for that same competition.

The first rule for deciding which club has a better position in cases when they have the same number of points is the goal difference in head-to-head matches.

If there are several teams in the combination, it goes like this:

a) head-to-head points

b) head-to-head goal difference

c) total goal difference

If there is a tie even after this, Fair Play scales are introduced. They are favorizing the clubs that play clean and disciplined football. Each card, suspension, or incident at one match, regardless whether it is on the pitch or in the stands, is valued, and the team with a fewer number of points has an edge.

Prize Money

According to the available information we had, LA Liga generated $1.5 billion per year form TV rights, and the last-placed team in the 2018 championship had $43.3 million exclusively from this. Barcelona meanwhile had $154 million as the winner of the competition.

Betting on La Liga

Betting on the Spanish national championship is always fun. There are so many options for exploring, and you can see which ones are the most suitable for you. The most popular markets when wagering on La Liga are:

  1. Full-time Result
  2. Total goals Over/Under
  3. Asian Handicap
  4. Halftime/Fulltime

Outright bets are very attractive, and besides that, entertaining as well. The rivalry between Real Madrid and Barcelona is an extra ingredient that makes those bets even more exciting. Of course, we don’t need to tell you that the most popular outright concerns the winner of the championship. But besides that, there are plenty of others which could be of interest to you.

  1. Winner without Barca and Real
  2. Relegation
  3. Top goalscorer
  4. Bottom finish

Tips and Tricks

Like every championship in the world, La Liga has its characteristics. Various patterns, rules, and some information will be delivered to you in the next few lines. It will take five minutes of your time to read them, and yet they might be useful.

When both Barcelona and Real Madrid play at home, those games often end with two or more goals in the first halftime. An enormous pressure of the hosts, caused by the fact that they not only have the best lineups in the championship but also that visiting sides encounter a bigger pitch than usual, are often providing a lot of scores in their net.

These two sides gave the top goalscorer in 12 of the last 14 seasons, Also do know that the previous 11 Europan Golden Boots came from La Liga. The only one who wasn’t from Real and Barca was Diego Forlan from Atletico Madrid.

There are groups of teams in La Liga which come from the same region of the country. Although they are big rivals, in situations when one of them needs points, for example, to avoid relegation or to reach a higher position in the standings, we often see that particular side beating the neighborhood rivals.

Fun Facts

  • Athletic Bilbao won the first-ever Spanish national title.  They would repeat the same success next year.
  • The oldest club in Spain is Rayo Vallecano, who is founded in 1889. The Bees suffered relegation to Segunda last season.
  • Their former striker Bata holds the best goal/game ratio with 1.588 goals per appearance.
  • The award for the top goalscorer Pichichi holds the nickname of the former Bilbao striker Rafael Moreno Aranzadi.
  • Sporting Gijon was relegated in the 1997/98 season having won just 13 points
  • Barcelona was the runner-up on 25 occasions.
  • Also, the biggest loss in the top tier of Spanish football is in the hands of Blaugrana. Athletic Bilbao beat them 13-1 in 1931.
  • Harry Lowe is the oldest player at one La Liga match. This Englishman had 48 years and 226 days when played for Real Sociedad against Valencia.

Latest Headlines